Hey Fledglings!

In the name of procrastination, I decided to persevere with the second book of The Marked series by Bianca Scardoni. If you read my first review you will know that I found many elements of the novel frustrating. However, there was a definite improvement between the two books. With that said, let’s get started on my review of Invidious.

I am going to try and keep this as spoiler free as possible.

Many of the conflicts that were created at the end of the first book were resolved within the first couple of chapters. It was frustrating for me to read because I wanted the book to go in a different direction but Scardoni definitely stuck to her guns. I’m sure her intended audience will be very happy with her decision.

Eventually, I decided to let my built up frustrations go and just read. As I did this I found myself enjoying it more and more for what it is. It is never going to be a novel that I recommend because I never found myself invested in the characters. However, I can see younger teenagers liking it.

Throughout the novel the stakes are raised and it was nice to see a steady progression in the plot. By the end of the novel (cliffhanger and all), Scardoni had set the next book up in the series very nicely.

I did appreciate the development of Jemma as a character. Although she hasn’t fundamentally changed, she was definitely more confident and self aware than in the previous novel. She finally started demanding answers and actively involving herself in events. Yay!

One thing that I did let bug me though was the beginning of pretty much every chapter. If I had a pound for every time she described the rain as some metaphor for pain, crying, bullets, nightmares or warnings, etc, etc, I would be a bloody rich woman. The same descriptions at the beginning of every chapter did get a little old. I get that the weather ain’t changing but at the same time, find something else to start the chapter with.

Overall, there was an improvement from the first book that would be unfair of me not to acknowledge. However, I do still think there are better series similar to what Scardoni is doing. For example, I enjoyed the Steel and Stone series by Annette Marie a lot more.

Have a good one,

Kate x

Leave a Reply

