Hey Fledglings!

Caitlin Moran’s How To Be a Woman has been recommended to me so many times. I wasn’t intending to write a review about it but after reading I couldn’t resist. It is one of the most refreshingly funny books I have read in a long time.

Caitlin Moran is someone I have heard of in my exploration of modern day feminism and although she has said many things I don’t necessarily agree with, I couldn’t wait to read this book. I wasn’t sure if this was an autobiography or a manifesto but I think it falls somewhere in between. I loved Moran’s honesty in talking about issues  by comparing them directly to her life. The beginning six chapters were my favourite and literally had me in hysterics. Her story about having to wear her mother’s hand-me-down underwear made me cry so much, I couldn’t read it out loud to my mum without falling apart.

The next chapters had some laugh out loud momentsand I did enjoy them, but I didn’t connect to them as much as I had with the first chapters (Not that I have ever had to wear my mum’s undies). What set apart the first chapters to me, was their refreshingly honest perspective. The other chapters were also honest, but I feel like I have heard people talk about the issues she covered so many times Moran was telling me so many things I have heard before. Chapters twelve to sixteen were more serious, but just as interesting as the first six that held my attention.

I don’t particularly like Moran as I have heard her say some seriously problematic things, but I did enjoy this book. It has definitely made me more aware of non-fiction works! I would love to see some more diverse voices writing their feminist journeys! I would love to read a book from Nadiya Hussain or Dhina Tokio!

Hope everyone is having a great start to the New Year!

Kate

Leave a Reply

